'The Marston War Memorial'
The aftermath of the First World War saw the
biggest single wave of public commemoration ever with tens of thousands
of memorials erected across England. This was the result of both the
huge impact on communities of the loss of three-quarters of a million
British lives, and also the official policy of not repatriating the
dead, which meant that the memorials provided the main focus of the
grief felt at this great loss.
Marston War Memorial was erected in the churchyard south-west of the former Church of St Paul, now the site of Marston Church Hall, as a permanent testament to the sacrifice made by local servicemen who lost their lives. It was paid for by public donations. The memorial, dedicated to 27 Marston men, was carved by A & A Senior Monumental Masons of Victoria Road, Northwich and unveiled by Mr G W Malcolm on Saturday November 13 1920. The ceremony included the Bishop of Chester, and local clergy and dignitaries.
Two First World War
soldier's war graves also stand in the same churchyard. Following the
Second World War the memorial was re-dedicated with the addition of ten
names of fallen servicemen.
It was restored in 1998, due to subsidence as a result of historic salt mining at the Salt Lion Works where many of the fallen worked.
The Marston war memorial was dedicated on the 13th November 1920.
It took the local community less than two years to raise the money to fund the memorial.
On the 26th August 2020, the Marston War Memorialwas designated a Grade II Listed Building.